31
Dec
11

thorns (remembering the past)

there is a period of my life that i’m trying to reconstruct that isn’t as clear to me as other parts of my life have been.  there is a general feeling that i can remember, but the details are shrouded in a fog of forgetfulness.  it isn’t a long period of time, just four weeks and one day, and bracketed as it is by deep despair and complete elation, you’d think that it would reveal itself, but no.  i may resort to embellishment of the general feelings, knowing as i do my modus operandi during that period of my life, and perhaps that will provide the truth of the emotions from that time if not the actual day-to-day facts.

1 Response to “thorns (remembering the past)”


  1. January 1, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Robert, as I hear your struggle with the retrieval or reconstruction of this period of time I am deeply touched…for I have the same dilemma with some very specific periods of my life- all related to the loss of a Loved-One. Some of those periods were so very intense, that I seem to have experienced an emotional black-out. It’s as if my mind and Spirit intervened, in Love, to protect me, so that I was able to be present for that person, and many of my Loved-Ones, to ” Get Through ” such a traumatic experience…otherwise, I would have been rendered a blubbering mess. Believe me, the blubbering, sobbing, breathtaking sorrow hit later- sometimes like an unexpected tsunami- yet it seemed to wait until I was somewhat prepared and equipped to deal with it, having committed to join a professionally facilitated Grief Group that I attended for two full years. Some of the details have been revealed, and others remain shrouded in what You refer to as ” embellishment of general feelings. ” Perhaps that’s all I am able to deal with, for now. Regardless, this piece truly hit home, and I’m with You in the realization that although I felt only a tinge of pain when the thorn penetrated my skin, I look, and see that there is blood running down my hand.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Copyright notice

© Robert Patrick, and Cultivar, 2008-2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts, photographs and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Robert Patrick and Cultivar with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

