03
Jan
09

Edith Piaf, Cezanne and Regrets

Edith Piaf famously sang “Non, je ne regrette rien…” and in a perfect world it would be wonderful to be able to live your life without regretting any act you may have made. As I’ve discovered in the few days since beginning this blogging journey, a lot of memory is associated with discovering and uncovering the origins of my collecting habits, my art aesthetic and my adult life. That being said, when I wrote about discovering Cezanne’s vision of orange and green…it got me digging into my archives et voila…a tone work dedicated to a friend, P., written about 1975 or 1976:

FOR P

The pale-yellow sun washes out the
Color from the landscape, ruined watercolors
Run together green, yellow, orange.
No words come from your mouth
As you watch her move across the
Filtered sky, the grass
Brushing your cheek, a fine
Thousand-bristled brush.

You lie for hours, motionless, waiting
For that moment just before dusk
When, in what seems a final stroke,
The sun surprises you, as it must have Cezanne,
Splashing orange-green trees
Up the hillside
Dark-yellow grass down the plain.

Thankfully we have artists to help us see afresh and to help us find meaning where and when we may have faltered, failing, falling…so P., if you’re out there, je regrette tout mes mots, pardonnes-moi.

2 Responses to “Edith Piaf, Cezanne and Regrets”


  1. 1 Anonymous
    January 3, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    What did you say?

  2. 2 R. Mutt
    January 4, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Exactly what I said shall remain between P. & me. But you may safely assume that it was stupid, inconsiderate and immodest. I said it carelessly and at the time, without guilt. 'In vino veritas'–in vino definitely; veritas, I'm not so sure–it did make me re-examine my inner-most being and I hope made me better for it. The loss of the friendship, however, has haunted me for nearly two decades.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Copyright notice

© Robert Patrick, and Cultivar, 2008-2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts, photographs and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Robert Patrick and Cultivar with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

